Cashed in One, Knocked Around in Another…

Well, it’s been an interesting day in Vegas.  Played in a 2 table sit and go at Luxor, cashed in that one (got knocked out with two pairs Q J vs. a set of Aces).  I don’t feel too bad, got my money in with the best hand I’d seen in a while.

Played the Binion’s 8 p.m. $100 tourney again tonight.  Almost made it to the final table, but out of the money again!  This time, I had pocket 7’s on the dealer button with around 5,000 chips, raised it 5 times the BB to 1,000, and got popped by a guy who’d been playing crap all night long, so I reraised him back all-in, figuring he was on a steal again (and I had him outchipped).

He flips over A 10 unsuited this time.  As suspected, I had the best of it pre-flop.  The flop comes 5 8 J rainbow, strengthening my position to around 70%.  The turn comes and he hits the darned Ace, then the river was a brick. 

At this point, it was just about over.  I had a only about 950 chips left  – chip and a chair?  Well, only for a few more hands.  I shoved with K J offsuit two ahead of the big blind, didn’t connect anything, my opponent caught a seven on the turn, so that was it for me at Binion’s again tonight.

Like Al commented, I’m beginning to think just playing loose/aggressive with any old crap might work better sometimes. 

The odds certainly didn’t pan out in this game tonight.  I watched Aces get cracked twice by small pairs that turned into a set on the flop, and Kings get snuffed by trip 6’s (both on the flop) – all within 30 minutes of each other.  Still, those players got their money in with the best hand, which is all anyone can do in this game.

There’s certainly many others I observed doing quite well with that “Gus Hanson” bully strategy – play aggressively, steal pots constantly and keep everyone guessing when you have a real hand.  I’m beginning to think seriously about using that style more often, especially in the MTT middle game.

Anyway, I’m here all week so the action is just beginning!

Rick

Leave a comment