Are The Poker Rooms Cheating You, Too?


Here’s an email I sent to my subscribers last night:

I just have to share this story with you…

I get a lot of emails and see a ton of allegations that the
poker rooms must be cheating, especially from folks who
are taking bad beats. So, are they cheating?

Let me try to answer this with a true story that recently
took place in our poker club…

To maintain his privacy, I’ll just call our poker player
Dale. Dale joined our Club in January, and it wasn’t long
before we started seeing a bunch of forum posts about the
bad beats he was taking.

He posted hand history information, proving his case. As
usual, we took this seriously and analyzed the hands
and provided our feedback as a mentoring team.

The very next week, Dale posts more bad beat stories. A
few days later, Dale accuses Poker Stars of being rigged.
He provided a bunch of “evidence” and made numerous
accusations, but we could not find enough compelling facts
to really support his point of view.

We made a special effort to spend even more 1-1 time with
Dale, as we felt bad for him and his continued losses. We
urged Dale to take the time to study the instructional
videos on SNG and MTT tourneys.

Then the accusations and bad beat posts subsided for a
few weeks. Then all of a sudden, Dale reported doing well
at Poker Stars, but he was now convinced that Full Tilt must
be rigged, as he was once again taking an improbable number
of bad beats there.

There must have been a collective sigh from all of us who
were deperately trying to help Dale improve his poker game –
I know I for one was growing weary of this…

But, instead of deriding him and shewing Dale away (he’d
have been blasted out of existence on any other poker forum
on the planet right after his original, first post), we
redoubled our efforts and started mentoring him along as
best we could. He was somewhat argumentative, so this
wasn’t easy.

Dale’s next post shocked us all. He said he was quiting
poker – he’d had enough of the bad beats and just didn’t
think he could take it any more.

Man, I’ve never seen so many people step up to help someone
before in my life. It was as if Dale had fallen overboard
into a raging sea full of sharks.

Everyone jumped in and offered about every form of persuasion
and advice I’ve seen. In that one instance, we all pulled
together to save Dale’s poker life.

As painful as it had been dealing with his continual whining,
crying, bitching and moaning and accusing everyone except
the real cause of his poker woes (himself and his bad decisions),
none of us could bear admiting defeat and seeing him fail.
It would be like someone dying and being gone that we knew
so well.

And that was the turning point. From that point forward,
Dale never accused another poker room of being at fault.
He started listening and learning what we were teaching him.
He started seeing improved results. He actually started
posting positive results for a change.

About a month ago, Dale came in 2nd place in our Club’s
weekly MTT tournament. A couple weeks later, he came in
2nd place again. He’s also reported a positive ROI at his
Sit and Go’s for a change.

Best of all, we don’t have to defend the poker rooms anymore,
since they were never at fault in the first place.

So why am I sharing this story with you? Because Dale’s is
not a story of going from nearly broke to being a WSOP multi-
millionaire like Chris Moneymaker. It’s not a story of increasing
his bankroll by 50X like some of our other members.

Dale’s is a story of survival to fight another day, and realization
that the real enemy is within when it comes to poker. We must
first master our own demons, accept the responsibility for our
own actions and decisions…

Then and only then, is it possible to become a winning poker
player. Dale still whines a little and talks too much at
times, but that’s just Dale. We’ve come to understand and respect
him.

And we’re glad he’s still with us – fighting to win another
pot along with everyone else at the final table.

Rick
www.RoyalFlushClubMembers.com

9 Responses to Are The Poker Rooms Cheating You, Too?

  1. chuck says:

    hi rick chuck here im not good with words but you do everything posible to teach us about the only thing you dont do is play are hand for us are we talking about BAD BEATif that was the case none of us would be playing anymore im sure we all have storys how we got bad beats remember one thing if we didnt play the hand we could not of got the bad beat maybe he played his top pair and let it go down too the river and lost too a straight or flush witch happens all the time may he had say 99 in early position and thought that was a winner the only thing i know sites DONT cheat they dont want too take a change of losing all that money they dont care who wins or looses that all they want is the rake PS rick you do everything too teach us keep up the GOOD WORK chuck

  2. sweet19541 says:

    hi rick paolo here , i doubt that poker rooms would rig any games they are huges companies making huges profits and i am sure they want to keep their reputation intact and in very good standing . also since they are not part of the game but only collect a fee ( percentage of the pot ) it does not matter to them who wins or loses therefore there is really no point for them to rig anything if they did and the word got out ( and it would eventually i am sure ) they ‘d be out of business in no time , i am sorry if i dont play in the tournaments rick , would love to but i work week ends keep up the good work , great site and great insights , best regards rick ,Paolo

  3. Hi Rick, I do not think so trap sites Poker, I think it is very common that when a player is the leader of chips and especially in the final stage of the tournament earns 80% of their hands whether you get big hands or wins with letters incredibly marginal (seems like a joke, too many bad beats) paying balances players who have little chips. My theory is that what sites they want to eliminate faster players to give way to other tournaments this for the simple reason that their business is basically a time and the largest number of tournaments that will be played. Excuse my bad English, Alejandra Mexico City

  4. chris (coolpocket) says:

    Bad beats??…who doesn’t get them…it’s just a fact of playing the game. It’s frustrating when you play a hand absolutely correctly…and lose?!….but it happens!! Since joining RFC…I’ve found that my ability to play more intelligently and correctly has increased immensely!! The information I’ve learned about the game that I’ve read in the club’s newsletters, videos, training manuals, and other teaching aids have raised my game to a whole new level!! I enjoy the game more because I understand strategies better. I find that I win more hands that I’m involved in than I lose. The biggest keys to success that I’ve learned from the club are (along with learning all that the club provides) is…discipline and patience!! You absolutely have to be patient!! And when your patience pays off by getting a good hand to play with…you now have to apply discipline and good decision making! If you can do that….you’ll have success. I’ve had to lay down QQ, KK, or AA different times because I knew some loser was tagging along in a hand they had no business being in…but managed to draw on me…and it’s painful laying down hands like that when you know you’re beat!!…or worse….playing the hand out and seeing the donk hit his flush or straight on the river! All I can say Dale is…..I sympathize with you…I’ve been there….all of us at the club have!! All I can tell you is that….the club genuinely provides you with the tools you need to be successful….but your ability to apply patience and discipline are what you need to provide on your behalf to make it all work!! Cheers! 🙂 coolpocket

  5. paul oconnor says:

    i don’t believe poker sites cheat. We all seam to get more than our share of bad beats maybe the bad beats stick in our minds more than the hands we win.When i have a bad beat it envokes emotion like the cards are against me. Yet when i put a bad beat on somebody else i feel i deserved to get some luck.Its just human nature.

    regards Aussie Paul

    sorry to change the subject.us poor aussies pay an absolute fortune for our internet acess and downloads i pay $40.00 per month for 1meg .5 peak time and .5 off peak with hugh penlties for going over my limit.i have been trying to watch the owners private collection.It is very frustating and exspenive for me one video off peak and one peak is all i can watch per month.To make matters worst i cannot save these videos like i can with the others that open in windows media player.i can not watch them again with out using over a third of my months down load limit and if i cannot spend the hour to watch the whole video or bump a button like i just did half way through i loose the video and it costs me one third of my months limit to get back.Is there some way you could please please send the videos to me in a smaller save able file .they have been so benificial.I went from easy beat in our local live tournament to one of the most feared players.I have had people get up and move tables after i have sat down.recently I won 3 live satalite tournaments and limped (purpuosly)on to the final table to make our state final.which the final table won toc (tournament of champions) seats with one million in prize money. not me this time but with the help of the royal flush club I WILL be there next year.Appreciate help.Aussie Paul

  6. Robert L. says:

    Wow, this is an interesting story. I was RFC member for a month, which I found to have been really helpful. I am no means a pro, but I do fairly well. Check my stats on Officialpokerrankings. User name:Rlmj_2k on Pstars. Anyways I must honestly say to Rick and the many others who stuck with DALE through his array of bad beats and in most cases bad poker play, that the RFC truly cares about helping people better themselves at the table. Dale reminds me of that Uncle or Cousin who can’t except he’s an addict, and gets so caught up in his drug of choice (i.e poker), that his mind was set, that the powers that be, were out to get him. RFC seems to be very family oriented and stands by their ill family member in his or her time of need. To Dale, I have been there before, but I didn’t have any support. I just kept playing and blaming the sites. Calling people donkeys and all sorts of stuff, making myself look like the A@@. I spent countless hours and money, playing what I thought was poker. Luckily I admitted to myself, that all that time it was me. Bad beats happen, playing the odds sometimes don’t work. Poker is a game of skill and luck and when you can weather the storm of good and bad runs, then your that much more a better poker player than you think. I had to reply to this cause hearing of a fellow poker brotheran wanting to quit didn’t sound too appealing. Rick you got a really good thing going on here. Keep up the good work, and keep out the Nay Sayers. To the ones that unsubcribed cause of Dale’s story, they’ll be back, and I’m sure you’ll welcome them back with open arms. P.S. I will be re-subscribing, I miss the Videos.

    RLMJ_2k
    Keep the Coffee coming,
    And the tables open.

  7. i see green says:

    i just want to say that i’m realy happy that we dont have to many dale’s in the club and i know for a fact that this story is true it’s obvious who he is ,last tourney he played at my table for a while and was crying about americans being more lucky and sucking out more then anyone else he played with. i would like to say to rick and the gang that you are doing a wonderfull job you are very helpfull and patient with anybody that needs support and encouragment . as for my poker game, well i’m not doing so good at the moment i ‘ve had a terrible run since the end of febuary i’ts not that i’m getting a lot of bad beats it’s just that i seem to be a litlle off in my judgement causing to make good moves at the wrong time . i was very surprise to see in the forum that i was’nt the only one having difficulties with my game and it’s encouraging to hear from other memberswho are trying to fix their game as well.
    thank you everyonei’ll see you at the final table very soon
    joining this club was the best money i spent since i play poker(3 years in august)
    keep up the good work
    i see green (mitch)

  8. This was a Excellent wordpress post, I will be sure to save this in my Del.icio.us account. Have a good day.

  9. bestelkado-gadgethouse-1 says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Bless you!

Leave a comment